Islamic Scouting

Text Box: ISLAMIC COUNCIL ON SCOUTING OF NORTH AMERICA				 
NATIONAL ISLAMIC COMMITTEE ON SCOUTING BOY SCOUTS OF AMERICA

HALAL MEALS at “SCOUT CAMP / ACTIVITIES” GUIDE

 

(Note by:  Islamic Scouting)

 

For many of our reader, Halal food requirements and procedures are commonly understood; however, for some of our friends not as well versed, we would like to take a moment to explain.

 

The word Halal literally means "permissible or lawful." The opposite of "Halal" is "Haram," meaning "not permissible or prohibited." Similar in concept to Kosher foods consumed by those of the Jewish faith, in Islam, Muslims consume foods that are Halal. Meats are not the only items to be considered Halal or Haram. Consumer must also consider the issue of whether food product derivatives and ingredients are produced with alcohol or ingredients of non-Halal animal origin. It is crucial that products we use of the companies they should comply with USA Halal food laws and the laws of countries requiring products to be of Halal origin, certified Halal, and bearing the correct documentation from a reputable company in the Halal food industry.

 

WHAT IS HALAL?

The word Halal “Allowed” or “lawful” Islam is a complete way of life that has a unique belief system and practices, means that practice and belief are not separable. Therefore, It is obligatory for human being to follow the guidelines of “Halal” in his/her life and to believe in it. Allah has ordered man to consume Halal foods and drinks, produce them in a “Halal” way and live life that is guide-lined by Allah (GOD) and taught by His messenger.

 

 “O ye people! Eat of what is on earth, lawful and good; and do not follow the footsteps of the evil one, for he is to you an avowed enemy…….. Qur’an: 2:168

 

“O ye who believe! Eat of the good things that We have provided for you, and be grateful to Allah, If it is Him you worship………. Qur’an: 2:172

 

WHAT IS HARAM? The word Haram means prohibited or “unlawful. Similarly “Haram” also applies onto anything in our lives. Here we intend to inform people about Halal and Haram on food issues. It is prohibited for man to practice in unlawful ways that Allah (God) has forbidden. Eating the foods and drinks that are “Haram” is forbidden for every human being.

 

“O ye who believe! Intoxicants and gambling, (dedication of) stones, and (divination by) arrows, are an abomination,- of Satan’s handwork: eschew such (abomination), that ye may prosper.  …. Qur’an: 5:90.

 

Forbidden to you are: dead meat, blood, the flesh of swine, and that on which hath been invoked the name of other than Allah that which hath been killed by strangling, or by a violent blow, or by a headlong fall, or by being gored to death; that which hath been eaten by a wild animal; unless ye are able to slaughter it; that which is sacrificed on stone (altars); (forbidden) also is the division (of meat) by raffling with arrows: that is impiety.

 

This day have those who reject faith given up all hope of your religion: yet fear them not but fear Me.  This day have I perfected your religion favor upon you, and have chosen for you Islam as your religion. But if any is forced by hunger, with Oft-forgiving, Most Merciful.

 

IS KOSHER HALAL?

The answer is not simple. Some items are Halal and other are  not. 

The HEBREW WORD KOSHER MEANS FIT OR PROPER AS RELATED TO Jewish dietary law and regulations. It means that a certain product is permitted and acceptable Judaism.

 

The way the Kosher law is explained and the label is used today, has no relationship to Halal or Islam. Alcohol and wine are permissible under Kosher law. So any kosher certified product may contain alcohol in the ingredient and still be Kosher. But that product cannot be Halal.

 

There are Kosher certification agencies that issue certification whose standards, even of national certifying organizations, vary significantly. In some cases gelatin that is produced from pig source or animals that are not truly slaughtered may be certified as Kosher because of the certification standard of that particular institution.

Having a Kosher seal on a product may inform the absence of pig ingredients, however that does not assure that alcohol is not used as an ingredient of the product.

 

How to read ingredients? 

By law food manufacturers are not obligated to list any ingredient that is used less than 2% of total weight of a particular product. 

 

FDA Regulations: 

If a Haram ingredient is used less than 2% then the manufacturer may not mention that ingredient by law.

Also, due to understanding that alcohol is “Generally Recognized As Safe” (GRAS) a food manufacturer does not have to list alcohol in the ingredient list if it is used less than 2% For the product that are intended for babies this is down to 0.5%

For additives, coloring agents and flavors different rules may apply.

“The Halal is clear and the Haram is clear; in between these are doubtful things which most of the people do not know about them whether they are Halal or Haram. So whoever saves himself from these suspicious things saves his religion and his honor. And whoever indulges in these suspicious things is like a shepherd who grazes (his animals) near a private pasture of someone else and at any moment he is liable to get in it……..” Narrated An Numan bin Bashari.

 

UNLAWFUL INGREDIENTS:

Pork (Swine, Hog, Pig),

Lard,

Alcohol,

Ethanol,

Tallow,

Bacon,

Blood,

Ham,

Intoxicants (heroin etc)

Animal Shortening

 

DOUBTFUL INGREDIENTS:

Gelatin,

Glycerin,

Mono & Animal Diglyceride*

Rennet,

Glycerol,

Carmine,

Lecithin,

Collagen,

Pepsin,

Emulsifiers,

Alcohol added to the recipe may cook off, but it depends on how long you cook off, but it depends on how long you cook it. USDA prepared below table about alcohol in cooked food.

 

PREPARATION METHOD AND ALCOHOL RETAINED:

Alcohol added to boiling liquid                                               85%

Flame                                                                                   75%

No heat, stored for overnight                                                 70%

Backed 25 minutes, alcohol not stirred into mixture                 45%

 

BAKED/SIMMERED, ALCOHOL STIRRED INTO MIXTURE:

15 minutes           40%

30 minutes           35%

1 hour                  25%

1.5 hours             20%

2 hours                 10%

2.5 hours             5%

 

 

 

 

 

  If you would like to become involved in Islamic Scouting at the national, regional, local council, or unit level,

please send an email message to:  Chairman -AT- IslamicScouting -DOT- org

 

 

 

  If you would like to become involved in Islamic Scouting at the national, regional, local council, or unit level,

please send an email message to:  Chairman -AT- IslamicScouting -DOT- org

Text Box:

Established: 1982

Text Box: CLEBRATING THE 
ISLAMIC PARTNERSHIP
WITH SCOUTING 
ADVENTURE
AND CONTINUING



 

OF JOURNEY TO 
CATCH THE
SCOUTING SPIRIT
25 Years

National Islamic Committee on Scouting, P. O. BOX 857, Edison New Jersey 08818, USA

www.islamicscouting.org  / www.islamiccouncilonscouting.org , / net, / com

Email: islamicbsa@aol.com Toll: 1-866-786-8181

Web Master : © 1982-2008 National Islamic Committee on Scouting, Boy Scouts of America, All Rights Reserved

The information

 

with the courtesy of

 

Halal PAK”

 

Guiding

 

Muslims for Shopping

 

P. O. BOX 46069,

Madison WI 53744

Tel 608-270-0571

Fax: 608-270-0573

Email: info@halalpak.com

 

Text Box: